Hoofddorp, Netherlands

the garden

the garden

Katy, our lovely cat

Katy, our lovely cat

the garden

the garden

the garden

the garden

The streetview

The streetview

the garden Katy, our lovely cat the garden the garden The streetview

Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

House in Hoofddorp, Netherlands

We’re living in Hoofddorp, nearby the big city of Amsterdam.
Our family consists of 4 people: Gerwin(50), Danielle(49) and 2 daughters Myrthe 19 years & Leonie 16 years old. We have 1 cat, her name is Katy. She's living in the house or outside in the garden.

Our house is built in 1986. It has a small but nice garden (10 by 5 meter) and terrace with a wooden picknick table. The accommodation consists of a big livingroom and an open kitchen, 3 bedrooms, bathroom with bath, shower and toilet. Leonie is sleeping on the 1th floor (also our bedroom) and myrthe’s room is on the 2th floor. In her room is also a sofa bank. (So in this room, the're can sleep 3 persons) In the kitchen we have a dishwasher a microwave and a freezer. We have of course a computer (wifi), Wii and DVD.
There is a shopping centre five minutes walking. The forest recreation and a lake for swimming just one km from here. ( Toolenburgplas or Haarlemmermeerse bos)This forest is very nice place for the children for playing and walking.
Hoofddorp is a village, which lies quite central. The bus will bring you in 10 minutes in the centre and the market on Friday. You can reach Haarlem and Amsterdam  in 20 and 40 minutes. In the village is a trainstation. The busstation is two minutes walking from our house. You can go by train or bus to the big city’s.
The Kagerplassen and Loosdrechtse plassen about 10 km from here are lakes where you can do all kinds of watersports.
If you like to cycle, we have 4 bicycles for adults or big children.
In the small village Cruquius you can see a museum about the dikes of Holland. It’s 5 km of our house.
Haarlem is an old interesting town with innumerable monuments and a large number of courtyards. There are also exhibitions on flora in the Teylers Museum, the oldest museum in the Netherlands.

For the children, you can go to "Linnaeushof", 7km by car or bike. It's a very nice and big playgarden, the biggest in Europe. It's for children from 2-13years old.
West Friesland an area with two faces: for centuries with the Zuiderzee as springboard for fishing and shipping to distant climes. On the other hand, known al an area with a long agrarian culture: fruit and bulb cultivation.
Hoorn is a beautiful harbour and market town with many monuments. In Medemblik you can take a trip in a steamtram. In Enkhuizen you can take the boat to the open-air museum. Urk: a living museum: you will also be able to see the Urk islanders locked like anno 1905.
Another part of Holland is the Gooi and Vecht regions. They have a completely different character from the rest of province. Beautiful rural estates which ancient woods, gardens and country houses. The fortress town of Naarden is worth a visit. Also the castle Muiderslot in Muiden. Very interesting for kids!
If you like to walk on the beach, Zandvoort and Bloemendaal. And don’t forget our wunderfull dunes!
Leiden, Rembrands birthplace is about 30 minutes from Hoofddorp. A boat trip of more than an hour takes you along Leidens canals. From the water there is a splendid view of the many fine monuments.
Kind regards, Gerwin & Danielle

Wij zijn Gerwin (50), Danielle (49)en hebben 2 dochters. Myrthe is 19 jaar en Leonie is 16 jaar. Gerwin is kok en Danielle werkt in het ziekenhuis als radiodiagnostisch laborant. Wij wonen in een rustige woonwijk met zeer goede openbaar vervoermogelijkheden. Onze achtertuin is ongeveer 10 m lang. Niet heel groot, maar heeft wel altijd zon en schaduw (als de zon schijnt... ) Vanuit Hoofddorp kun je heel gemakkelijk naar de hoofdstad van Nederland Amsterdam of de hoofdstad van onze provincie Haarlem. Voor jong en oud is hier veel te beleven. Voor kinderen kun je denken aan uitstapjes naar Schiphol, Linnaeushof (grote speeltuin op 6,5 km tot oktober open) overdekte speeltuinen, Keukenhof (april/mei) dierentuin Artis of Sprookjeswonderland in Enkhuizen, Zaanse Schans in Zaandam,Anne Frankhuis in Amsterdam. Strand en duinen liggen binnen een half uur bereik. Kortom: genoeg te doen!
Verder heeft Hoofddorp zelf een leuk modern winkelcentrum, gedeeltelijk overdekt en vlakbij ons huis is een klein winkelcentrum voor de dagelijkse benodigheden. Op vrijdag is er een grote markt in Hoofddorp centrum. Met de bus ben je er met 10 minuten.
We hebben 1 kat, Katy. Zij mag naar binnen en naar buiten.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 13 Exchanges made


  • cook/cuisinier
  • radiographer

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 0
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Hospitality wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano


  • Garden
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 4


  • No smoking
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Czechia
  • Finland
  • Norway
  • Sweden
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Switzerland
  • Germany
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • United Kingdom

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood


  • cook/cuisinier
  • radiographer


  • Girl - Age: 17
  • Girl - Age: 20


  • 1 cat

About Our Family

We have 2 daughters: Myrthe (19) and Leonie (16). They like dancing, streetdance and classic ballet. Gerwin likes to ride on his (racing)bike and Danielle loves ballet&pilates.
We have 1 cat. She'se living inside and outside the house. She's not shy and nice to children.