Back
CA613

Vancouver, Canada

Welcome !

Welcome !

Welcome !
Silver

Member since

2002

Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 06, 2020 - August 25, 2020 3 weeks

....we are able to exchange also for 4 weeks

OCEAN, MOUNTAINS, CITY CENTRE....MINUTES AWAY...GATEWAY TO ASIA.

We have a 1930 "character home" in a desirable neighbourhood in the world's 3rd most liveable city ( The Economist). Our city is safe. We walk to do shopping nearby. There are many international restaurants within walking distance.The plumbing and electrical systems are upgraded. At the rear of the home is a deck with a quiet seating area just off the kitchen's French doors. The furniture in several rooms is "in the period".There is a piano. We have a very large backyard ( larger than normal for Vancouver) with a park-like ambience. The garden patio has a quality Weber propane BBQ. There is a security alarm system. We have wifi.
Our community is in the centre of the metropolis, 10 minutes from city centre, 10minutes from the ocean, 20 minutes from the forested mountains. We are 2.5 hours from Seattle, 4.5 hours from the Okanagan Valley vineyards and 30 minutes from the ferry (1.5 hours) to Vancouver Island (beautiful scenery on the way) and 1.5 hours to Whistler, BC. The Rocky Mountaineer train station is 5 minutes from our home. We have 2 adult bicycles and also camping equipment. Please see
" Neighbourhoods" on this Intervac website.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 5 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Retired High School Teacher
  • Retired Executive Director, Public Service

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 2

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • France

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Español

Occupation

  • Retired High School Teacher
  • Retired Executive Director, Public Service

Children

  • We do not have children.

Pets

  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home

About Our Family

We are a retired high school science/math teacher ( Michael O'Neill) and a retired senior civil servant (Susanne Dahlin). We are well traveled and this includes 5 home exchanges when our two children, now adults, were younger. We both speak some Spanish and Michael also speaks some French. Our adult children might be joining us. The oldest son is a teacher (35) our youngest (32), a railway foreman and his wife (28) a Special Education Assistant. They might join us for a few days or perhaps not at all. Our children are bilingual, French and English and our eldest also speaks Spanish.

Lifestyle

We are a retired couple....together since 1969! We are highly educated, hard working and empathetic people from humble beginnings. When our children were young we exposed them via home exchanges to France, Spain, Italy and many other countries as well. We ensured that they would be bilingual in French and English. We have studied Spanish together and have traveled of late to several Hispanic countries. We cook at home often but also escape to a restaurant periodically. We eat anything..well almost...Michael refuses to eat monkey brains :-) . We do not smoke or take drugs other than red wine and basil. Michael is an avid snooker player and former hockey player until age 63. He is our " Irish gardener" and handyman. Michael has a 50cc Vespa...prefers it to the car except when there is ice and snow. We have travelled together on it! Susanne goes to the gym regularly, likes to cook and contributes voluntarily to our community centre. She is in 2 women's book clubs. We like to dance, and go to the theatre and travel to non-English speaking countries.