Back
GB1002627

Ventnor, Great Britain

Our house in the Mediterranean like sun of the Isle of Wight

Our house in the Mediterranean like sun of the Isle of Wight

Our house in the Mediterranean like sun of the Isle of Wight
Bronze

Member since

2014

Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
September 01, 2019 - March 31, 2020 2 months

For 2019-2020 we are only looking for an exchange late summer/autumn 2019- spring 2020, so outside the summer holidays. We are especially interested in longer exchanges of 2 months or longer with Canada and the US.

Large 150 year old colonial style house with gardens and seaviews - looking for interesting exchanges with character

We live on a small island off the south coast of England, the Isle of Wight. Our home is a detached 150 year old house in its own secluded grounds totaling about 2 acres, with balcony and verandah overlooking the sea and botanic gardens, reminiscent of colonial houses "Out of Africa" or in Indian Hill Stations. To date, we have had ten happy house exchanges in Great Britain, across Europe as well as a longterm exchange in USA.

Our house is less than 15 minutes walk to the beach and coastal paths, and only five minutes from the Botanic Gardens. The house has a lounge with working fire place, a family room (also with working fire place and 42 inch smart internet TV - and a third reception room/sixth bed room, large kitchen with double oven, microwave, slimline dish washer, washing machine and dryer and downstairs cloak room on the ground floor and 5 bedrooms (one with an en suite shower room and one with a balcony with sea views), and a bath room on the first floor. The smallest bedroom is only suitable for a young child. Both of the children's bed rooms have bunk beds. We have 3 cats who require minimal care; they are outside a lot enjoying the garden and we also have 1 gold fish and a gerbil.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 1 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • author & genealogist
  • therapist and translator

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: By the sea
  • Bedrooms: 5
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 10

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • BBQ

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • France
  • England, UK
  • The Netherlands
  • Spain
  • Norway
  • Italy
  • Belgium
  • United States
  • Canada
  • Iceland

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Dutch

Occupation

  • author & genealogist
  • therapist and translator

Children

  • Boy - Age: 13
  • Boy - Age: 11

Pets

  • 3 cats
  • 1 goldfish
  • 1 gerbil