San Jose, USA


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
May 01, 2019 - January 25, 2020 2 weeks

Available for exchange: Summer 2019 Dec-Jan 2020

Quaint Spanish-Style Home in Silicon Valley, California, USA

Our home is located in the Willow Glen area of San Jose, just 3 blocks from dining & shopping, 2 blocks from tennis courts & a nice park with a playground. The neighborhood is very family oriented and there is a public library a few blocks away. We are within biking distance to San Jose State University and there is a bike path to lots of destinations. We live on a busy street, but the back of the house is quiet and the backyard has a nice garden, deck and gas grill.

San Jose was the first city established in California by the Spaniards in 1776. It was founded to supply the forts of Yerba Buena (San Francisco) and Monterey because it was located equidistant from both locations. San Francisco can easily be reached by train, or an hour's drive on the freeway. The Monterey Peninsula is only 1.5 hours drive and is home to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world(IMHO): Asilomar Beach and 17-Mile Drive. It is also home to the world famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, Pebble Beach and the quaint (and very upscale) artist colony of Carmel. Most of all, it was the home to author John Steinbeck and poet Robinson Jeffers just to name a few.

San Jose itself is a unique and special place. We have lived here for 24 years and I feel like I am always learning something new in my hometown. We have wonderful museums, music venues, restaurants and live theatre. The diversity of our area makes me proud to call it home. Every season brings new art and culture to the area:

Winter: Vietnamese Festival, Winter Jazz Fest, Downtown Ice,
Spring: Cinequest Film Festival, South First Friday Gallery walks
Summer: San Jose Jazz Festival (August):
Fall: Theatre season begins!

Temperature: In the winter months (Dec-Feb)it never gets colder than the mid-50's during the day (12 celsius). Winter is the "rainy" season, where we may get some significant rain (1-2 inches per month).
Summer can be hot, but it is a very dry heat. A heat wave may last 2 days (95F/32-36c) but most days are in the mid 80sF/29c). Just bring a hat and sunscreen and you will be fine! We have air conditioning in the master bedroom and back family room only.

Want to learn more about the area? Check these out:
San Jose now:
The early history of San Jose:
Biking and Hiking:
Art & Culture:
Los Gatos Creek Trail:

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 1 Exchanges made


  • Academic Librarian

Our Home

  • House Type: Single storey home
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4
  • Living Area: 1900 sq ft

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Home exchange
  • Renting possible


  • Free internet access
  • Hot tub or jacuzzi
  • Air conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Guitar


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 3


  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • New York, NY, USA
  • Buenos Aires, Argentina

Spoken Languages

  • English


  • Academic Librarian


  • We do not have children.


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home

About Our Family

We are a couple in our 50's and have lived in our home for nearly 25 years. We enjoy hiking, walking on the beach, biking and listening to jazz, all things you can do minutes from our home! We have two indoor only cats which we can board, or exchange for taking care of your pets. We love dogs too!

One of us is an academic librarian who will be on sabbatical 2018-2019 and so we are looking for a long-term, simultaneous exchange.