Back
IE1018105

County Meath, Ireland

front of house

front of house

Trim Castle Co Meath, largest Norman castle in Ireland

Trim Castle Co Meath, largest Norman castle in Ireland

Ready to go

Member since

2019


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
August 02, 2024 - August 10, 2024 8 days

Our home is free for a non-simultaneous exchange this year. We would not be free to travel until late December or summer 2025.

June 24, 2025 - August 17, 2025 2 weeks

If we find the right fit, we can be pretty flexible on dates! Ideally, in 2025 we would like to do a house swap for 2 weeks in mid July. We would also be open to shorter home stay swaps throughout the year!

Share

A lovely family friendly house in the County Meath countryside close to Dublin

Welcome to our home - in the countryside but so central for a great trip in Ireland ! We live on a rural country road in a wonderfully friendly community. There is so much to see and do in our location! Our family conists of husband and wife, Hugh and Irene and our sports mad 3 children! We live on a farm and have green fields surrounding us. Our home is less than an hours drive to Dublin city centre and also only 1.5 hours to Galway city which means that there are loads of amenities quite close by. It's a super location to explore a lot of our beautiful country! There is also a great public transport service (bus and train) from the nearest village of Enfield (5km away). We could offer our car in our exchange also. Galway City is 1.5 hours away, Emerald Park is 35 minutes away, Trim Castle is 10km from us. Or if you just want to relax in the area, the Royal Canal Greenway (the longest off road greenway in Ireland) is within a 2km cycle from our house and is 130km in length. It's a fantastic amenity for anyone interested in cycling.
We have a large and homely 5 bedroom home and have 3 dogs, a cat and a pony but all will be cared for during your stay. Two of the dogs are indoor pets so our house is not pet-allergy friendly. Our house is child-friendly and we have bicycles, go kart, plenty of footballs, soccer goals.
We have a car that could potentially be part of the exchange.
We have wonderful neighbours who are always happy to help.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 0 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • policeman & farmer
  • teacher

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 5
  • Bathrooms: 4
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6
  • Total Area: 2900 m2

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Guitar

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • BBQ
  • Garage / private parking
  • Bicycles: 6

Facilities

  • Non-smoking house
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Croatia
  • Austria
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Czechia
  • England, UK
  • Portugal
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Greece
  • Poland
  • Germany
  • Spain
  • France
  • Italy

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Deutsch
  • Gaelic

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Dublin - 52km

Where we live is very central to lots of adventures within Ireland and Northern Ireland. We are very lucky to have some incredible historical gems close to us such as:
Trim Castle (the oldest Norman Castle in Ireland c.1174) is 16km away.

Emerald Park theme park and zoo is just 35 minutes drive away and has amazing fun for all the family! https://www.emeraldpark.ie/

Newgrange Stone Age Passage Tomb dating back to 3200BC is a 40 minute drive away in the Boyne Valley, Co Meath. https://www.newgrange.com/

Loughcrew Cairns Passage Tomb approx 30 minutes drive from our home. https://www.loughcrewmegalithiccentre.com/loughcrew-cairns/

Dublin City Centre is 40 minute drive away or 1 hour by public transport from Enfield Village.
The Phoenix Park which houses Dublin Zoo is 30 minutes drive away or you can take public transport. https://www.dublinzoo.ie/

Glendalough National Park is 1hour 20 minutes drive from us and has amazing hikes and is steeped in history! https://www.theirishroadtrip.com/best-glendalough-walks/

Galway City Centre is 1.5 hours drive from Enfield.
Enfield village has a train station with regular trains to Dublin or Galway/Sligo. There are also regular buses to the same destinations.
Fureys restaurant is a 10 minute drive away and definitely serves the best steak and homemade chips in the country! it's also an incredible spot to stop and enjoy a pint of guinness by a turf fire with great company.
Enfield Village is 5km away and has some lovely coffee shops, restaurants and a playground.

There's lots of space around our house to let younger children roam.

Translate this

Occupation

  • policeman & farmer
  • teacher

Children

  • Boy - Age: 10
  • Girl - Age: 13
  • Girl - Age: 15

Pets

  • pony
  • dog
  • dog
  • dog
  • cat

About Our Family

Our family of 5 includes mom - Irene, dad - Hugh, daughters Fiadh (2009), Róise (2011) and son Caolán (2014). We also have 3 dogs (Tess, Mandy and Kerry) and a cat called Michael Jackson (the children loved his music when they were younger!!)and a pony called Jill. The animals will all be cared for during the house sway. We are an active family and love sport and there are lots of bicycles for all age groups. Our house is on an acre of land and has a trampoline of our garden. There are boxes of lego for use and a playstation in the front room. Irene works as a secondary school teacher and Hugh is a policeman and a farmer.

Translate this