Back
BE49392

Brugge, Belgium

Ready to go

Member since

2020


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 23, 2021 - August 15, 2021 2 weeks

we are looking for our holiday in 2021

a warm and welcoming family home, very close to Bruges

we are experienced home exchangers, we have done over 30 exchanges and 23 house sittings.
BRUGES! Need I Say more ...?! We live in a rural area with all conveniences of urban life. Previous exchangers were delighted with our home and location. Bruges has been elected as "The 3rd friendliest city in the world 2019" according to a poll by travel website Big 7 Travel: "One of the friendliest cities in Europe is Bruges, a fairytale place in Belgium. The charming atmosphere is hard to match, with a village feel and locals who go the extra mile to welcome tourists. From walking guides to the waiter who serves your hot chocolate and waffles, the people here make Bruges stand out". Bruges is the loveliest city in Europe: her museums, historical sites, restaurants and cafes (with more than 1,500 kinds of the world-famous Belgian beers)...Keeping a visitor occupied for more than a few days. It is an ideal destination if you are looking for a low-key place to relax. in 2018 Bruges had 8.3 million tourists! And it is a good base for visiting Ypres, Passchendaele (less than 60 km), Brussels, Ghent, Amsterdam or Paris ... MUCH MORE ABOUT US and Bruges ON OUR WEBSITE. http://users.telenet.be/dpm/ We have been Exchanging 29 times in the past; and have done 23 house sittings. Since our daughters left home, we are home Exchanging again. We still are good friends for over 22 years with a family from our first Danish home swap, once in a while, we visit each other (and had a wonderful exchange again with them in 2017); also with Dutch couples we still have nice get-together's. Preferably no small children: we have a pond. WE DO ANSWER ALL MAIL!

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 0 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • retired head chef / cleaning lady

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2 floors
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 3

In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • BBQ
  • Garage

Facilities

  • No smoking

Our Destination Wish List

  • Cornwall, UK
  • Wales, UK
  • Scotland, UK
  • Denmark
  • Sweden

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood

We live in Sint Andries, only 5 Km from the well-known city of BRUGES.
Bruges is a lively city, but a city for people.
Our neighbourhood is very nice, with peaceful surroundings.
The maximum speed in our quarter is 30 km/hr. We have friendly and welcoming neighbours. In addition it is very child-friendly: our street is a save and quiet cul-de-sac, of only 4 houses. The only traffic is very local.
It is real nice to wake up in the morning while listening to the singing birds.
Different shops (department stores as well as neighbourhood-shops, butchers, bakeries…) and lovely forests (which were highly appreciated by most of our home exchange friends) are very nearby. You only need to walk 10 minutes to the subtropical swimming pool, the football stadium (FC Bruges), and the bowling hall. Tennis and horse riding are also nearby.

A few km from here we have a cinema-complex.
Bus stops are just within a few minutes walking distance. Nearby, we have a very user-friendly and cheap park-and-ride bus system .

Occupation

  • retired head chef / cleaning lady

Children

  • We do not have children.

Pets

  • Pippa, a well behaved dachshund / pond with fish

About Our Family

we are experienced home exchangers, we have done 30 exchanges and 23 house sittings.
I, Michel (62) am a retired head chef (in a seaside hotel of the army). I like 'real' cooking, reading, listening to music (I am a huge fan of Deep Purple, (rock-)blues); watching TV; gardening, traveling; and since a couple of years I really am into photography (I even am employed – on voluntary service - by the city of Bruges as a photographer and ‘work’ for a couple of concert-webzines)...
Gina (57) is a cleaning lady in a children's ward in a hospital. She likes traveling, reading tear-jerking books, home design magazines, and doing the household.
We are a happy couple since 1977 and have been married since 1982.
We have 2 children: Lynn (34) and Maaike (30). They both left home since a couple of years
see more on our website:
http://users.telenet.be/dpm/