Edinburgh, Great Britain


Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

House in Edinburgh, Great Britain

Our home is a garden flat in the Blacket Conservation Area of Edinburgh. This part of the city has the atmosphere of a quiet village despite being near the heart of this UNESCO world heritage site. The semi-detached house is stone-built and was built in 1874. The flat has the style of a cottage, although with all modern conveniences. 
You can see a short video made by a friend at:
We have a large conservatory with Victorian encaustic tiling that comes from the floor of Edinburgh's cathedral. The conservatory opens out on to a large south-west facing private walled garden. There are three bedrooms, a recently refurbished kitchen, a bathroom and shower room (with a shower and steam unit). 
Cooking is by gas with an electric oven. There is a computer with internet connection, dishwasher, tuned piano, CD player with collection of classical music, video/DVD player, washing machine, tumble drier, etc.. 
We are very close to the centre of Edinburgh - 10 minutes walk to Arthur's Seat the rocky hill in the centre of Queen's Park. Princes Street, the main street is 20 minutes walk away. There is no need to use a car to get around Edinburgh. The nearest bus stop is three minutes walk away and about 10 buses go from there straight to the centre. There are many local shops within walking distance and supermarkets a little further out.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 30 Exchanges made


  • Lecturers
  • Lecturers

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 0
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Not allowed

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange
  • Youth exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer


  • Garden
  • Park / playground


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Italiano
  • Français
  • Español
  • Deutsch

Our Neighbourhood

We don't know if you have been to Edinburgh before, but it is a wonderful city. (We are impartial because Don is from London, Penny from Wales). It has the advantages of being the capital city of Scotland. There are excellent museums, concert halls, art galleries and so on. In the summer Edinburgh is host to a number of Festivals – theatre, opera, concerts, ballet, art, film, jazz and books. At Christmas/New Year Edinburgh hosts a fire festival and huge party (called Hogmanay) to see in the new year.
Edinburgh is the birthplace of golf and has many golf courses and other opportunities for walking and sport. It has excellent shopping with many independent shops, pubs and restaurants serving Scottish and International cuisine. 
But Edinburgh is also small enough (400,000) to be easy to get away from. Public transport is good, but we are keen on exchanging cars and with a car you can reach many other places. The local countryside has beautiful hills and beaches. Glasgow is 80km away, or one hour away by train. The Highlands, lochs and many castles can be reached on a day trip, though it is better to stay overnight. Skye and the Scottish islands are a bit further but wonderful.


  • Lecturers
  • Lecturers


  • We do not have children.


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home