Alkmaar, Netherlands


Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates


Splitlevel cornerhouse in quiet neighbourhood near city centre of Alkmaar

Our house is located in the middle of a quiet, cozy and really friendly neighbourhood, ten minutes by foot from the historic city centre of Alkmaar. We have three bedrooms available: one with a double bed and two kids' rooms. We also have two extra single sofabeds in the attic. Our cat Maggy will enjoy your company. We have a sunny garden with a sandpit and a carport in the back. There are several small playgrounds and a nice park with playgrounds in our neighbourhood.

The historic centre of Alkmaar dates back to the 17th century. Here you will find the famous cheesemarket of Alkmaar, several typical Dutch canals and many other cultural attractions. In the city centre are several shopping streets with all the shops you'll want as well as many nice restaurants and cafes.

Between our house and the city centre is the bus and train station from where the train leaves to Amsterdam (every 15 minutes) or to any other city you would want to visit in the Netherlands. Within 35 minutes, you've reached the city centres of Amsterdam and Haarlem. Other cities such as Utrecht, Delft, The Hague, Rotterdam and Leiden will take about 1 / 1,5 hour by train or by car. And, as our country is quite small, many other nice cities are relatively close too.

By bike, by car (not recommended in the summer for parking reasons) or by bus you can go to the beach in several places along the coast. Here you will also find the typical Dutch dunes, where you can walk, cycle, etc. All around Alkmaar are the famous 'polders' with historic windmills, tulip fields and beautiful vistas.

If you like we can exchange cars. The closest airport is Amsterdam Schiphol (a little under 1 hour by train).

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 8 Exchanges made


  • Software developer
  • Teacher / Webshop employee

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Guitar


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 2


  • Non-smoking house
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • France
  • United Kingdom
  • Denmark
  • Germany

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Español
  • Dutch


  • Software developer
  • Teacher / Webshop employee


  • Boy - Age: 4
  • Girl - Age: 6


  • A cat, Maggy


This member has completed 8 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: