Piedmont (San Francisco, California), USA

Our 1927 house in Jack London neighborhood of Piedmont, California, facing San Francisco Bay

Our 1927 house in Jack London neighborhood of Piedmont, California, facing San Francisco Bay


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
March 01, 2022 - May 31, 2022 3 weeks

flexible, 1-8 weeks, depending on your location

Elegant house in Piedmont, California USA, a clean safe beautiful urban village, 11 miles from San Francisco. Walk to gourmet food shop, tennis courts, playgrounds, parks. Will consider allowing a well behaved dog. Spring 2022 prefer US or Canada.

Beautifully furnished 1927 house with tall ceilings. Panoramic views of San Francisco city and Bay from most rooms in the house. Sunny dry weather! Car may be available for your use. The weather in Piedmont is sunnier and warmer than in San Francisco itself, yet we are only 15 minutes away by car.

We are happy to arrange transportation for you from the airport to our house and a tour of the town by a friend. Gourmet food shop/cafe, banks, park, tennis courts within walking distance. Child-friendly safe area with lots for children to do.

We have done 5 exchanges -- wonderful experiences. We are neat and clean and respectful of others' homes and belongings. We will take excellent care of your home and expect that you will likewise take excellent care of ours. We love animals, but because of allergies are unable to stay in a home with indoor cats.

House: 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms on top level: queen bed, queen bed, single bed, single bed. Three bedrooms have amazing views of the Bay; other bedroom has garden view. Level 2 has breakfast room, dining room, living room all with views, kitchen, laundry room, office/bed room (one single bed) with adjoining full bathroom, guest bathroom (toilet and sink), all with garden views. The lower level is a recreation room with tv, piano, & sofa. The rear garden is large has small patio dining areas and terraced plantings.

Transportation: By foot: beautiful and safe walk to gourmet market, bank, tennis courts, clean lovely parks & playgrounds. We bicycle, but bicycling may be challenging for visitors not used to hills. By car: it's easy and relatively inexpensive to use a car and find parking in the Bay Area. Bus: Monday through Friday within a 5 minute walk from the house, there is an express morning and evening bus to San Francisco. However, buses are not frequent throughout the day, so it's preferable to use a car. There is also a free carpool to SF in the early mornings weekdays. Train to San Francisco: You can take a bus to the BART station or drive 10 min to the BART station parking lot and leave the car there (most flexible option). Access to freeways: there is quick access to major freeways (Yosemite 3 hours east; Los Angeles 7 hours south, Napa Wine Valley 1.5 hours north).

Kayaking (Jack London Square & Sausalito), sailing (Berkeley Marina, Jack London Marina) and golf are within 10-60 minutes by car. Beaches are an easy day trip: the ocean landscape is stunningly beautiful and wildlife is abundant (elephant seals, whales, dolfins, pelicans, etc.). The beach weather is cool and the Pacific Ocean is cold and rugged. Wetsuits are advised.


Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 4 Exchanges made


  • lawyer
  • city planner

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 5
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8
  • Total Area: 214 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 3


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Canada
  • United States

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Español


  • lawyer
  • city planner


  • Boy - Age: 24
  • Girl - Age: 27


  • small dog


Our visitors describe our home as a country house within a city. Our house is spacious and quiet, yet close to many restaurants, activities and sites.
We enjoy an active and cultural vacation. We like to bicycle, walk, swim, hike as well as seeing cultural sites. We especially appreciate getting to know people of other cultures, learning about their customs and point of view. We enjoy excellent food and look forward to new culinary experiences and shopping at local food markets.
If you tell us your interests, we are happy to help you find those things in our area.


This member has completed 4 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: