Reykjavik, Iceland

House in winter - upper floor is available

House in winter - upper floor is available


Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates


Upper floor in a large duplex in Iceland's capital, fabulous view, close to bus and nature reserve.

The upper floor (120 sq metres / 1300 sq feet) in a Reykjavik duplex. This comfortable home is located in a quiet, close-knit neighbourhood, close to transit. The house has four bedrooms plus a living room with a single-person sleeping couch, a dining room, kitchen, bathroom with laundry facilities. The bedrooms are one master bedroom, three smaller children's bedrooms, two of them with single beds, one with a double pull out couch, and hallway. Surrounding the house is a large, lush garden with a great trampoline. A four minutes walk takes you to a nature reserve, two rivers and a small forested area, with well-lit paths. Two public swimming pools are within 15-30 minute walking distance.
The view from the living room and dining room is amazing, overlooks the Ellida river valley (7 minute walk) and the city.
A major bus terminal is in a 7-minute walk distance, where both city buses stop along with buses going to the countryside. The bus ride to the centre of town takes about 12 minutes. By the terminal is a small shopping centre, with a large lower-priced grocery store open 24/7, fish store, bank, jewelry store, pharmacy, dry cleaner, bakery, bookstore, second-hand clothes store, a small market and more.
Downstairs apartment is not included - Sigrun's (very friendly) father lives there.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 1 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 6 Exchanges made


  • Sigrun Maria: Civil Servant/specialist, PhD

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: Upper floor
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6


In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Piano
  • Guitar


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • Bicycles: 2


  • Non-smoking house
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Madeira, Portugal
  • Denmark
  • Yuba City, CA, USA
  • Sacramento, CA, USA
  • New York, USA
  • New York, NY, USA
  • Gibraltar
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • Spain
  • Greece
  • Italy
  • Morocco
  • Turkey
  • Macedonia Greece
  • Czech Republic
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Cyprus
  • Macedonia (FYROM)
  • Croatia

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Dansk
  • Islenska

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Keflavik airport - 40

Our neighbourhood is a wonderfully quiet and safe small enclosed section of originally single-family houses build around 1970. Many of the houses have now been divided into two or three apartments, and a remarkable number of people who grew up in this neighbourhood have now moved back there as adults with children. Two playgrounds are in the neighbourhood, along with a playschool, whose playground is open to the public after closing hours and on weekends, along with during the school's 3-week summer vacation. Several other playgrounds are located on the elementary school lot 8 minutes walk away and in the neighbourhood around the school.
We are close to a major bus station, where buses leave both to all parts of Reykjavík and to the countryside. The buses are very reasonably priced.
Reykjavík's pearl of a nature reserve with excellent hiking and running paths is within 5 minutes walking distance from our home. Two of Reykjavik's outdoor swimming pools (open year-round, heated with natural geothermal water) are within 15-30 minute walk away from our house.

Translate this


  • Sigrun Maria: Civil Servant/specialist, PhD


  • Boy - Age: 17
  • Boy - Age: 14
  • Boy - Age: 10


  • Cat (will be elsewhere)
  • Dog - miniature Schnauzer (will be elsewhere)

About Our Family

We are an Icelandic-Canadian family of four, mom and three delightful boys aged 7, 12 and 14. We love reading, travelling, swimming and dancing. We are relaxed and respectful and our former exchanges have been wonderful:
• 2015 Vancouver Canada
• 2016 Vienna Austria
• 2017 Barcelona Spain
• 2019 Pornichet France

Translate this


We are a close-knit Icelandic family of four that loves books and dancing and spending time together. All four of us speak both English and Icelandic. We make regular use of Iceland's many public libraries, swimming pools and the local domestic animal zoo, and we are certain to see all the children's plays offered in in Reykjavik's bustling theatre community over the winter. Nearly every weekend, we walk or bike down to the river with our dog, enjoying the changing seasons in one of Iceland's rare forests. We travel each summer within Iceland, but also spend much time in our garden.

Translate this


This member has completed 6 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: