Back
US48653

New York, USA

Ready to go

Member since

2019


Usually responds to exchange requests in less than 72 hoursfast replier
Unavailable for exchange at the moment
Exchange dates Duration
June 23, 2024 - August 19, 2024 2 weeks

We are in the process of arranging an exchange for summer 2023. We are experienced exchangers having exchanged 6 times to San Diego, France, Leeds, and Denmark (3) via HomeExchange.com. We changed sites when HomeExchange completely changed how they worked.

Singly family, 2 story attached home in a great neighborhood

Our home is on a quiet dead end street in Windsor Terrace Brooklyn. We are 2 blocks from Prospect Park, an 8 minute walk to the subway and all the sights and sounds of Manhattan. We can walk to the grocery store, pharmacy, movie theater and many restaurants. A safe, quiet location, perfect for exploring New York City.

The first floor has an enclosed porch, living room dining room and kitchen. Out the back door we have a lovely deck and garden. The second floor consists of the master bedroom with queen size bed, 2nd bedroom with a double bed and 3rd bedroom which has a sofa that converts to a double bed. There is a full bathroom with tub/shower. In the basement we have another living area with sofa and TV. There is also another sleeping area with queen size bed. A second full bathroom with shower and the laundry room complete the basement area.

We have done six home exchanges through a different organization but they changed the program in a way that doesn’t suit us as well. We prefer a simple simultaneous exchange with another family. Our adult children may travel with us. We tried two summers to make an exchange on intervac and so far Covid has thwarted our plans. We hope summer 2023 will be different! I, Mary am a nurse practitioner, Soren is a teacher, Katrine (daughter 31) is an ER nurse, her husband Brad is an iron worker and Peter (son 28) is an event manager for music festivals.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 0 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Teacher
  • Nurse Practitioner

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 7
  • Living Area: 1700 sq ft

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Portugal
  • Denmark
  • England, UK
  • Scotland, UK
  • Ireland

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Dansk

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: laguardia -

Windsor Terrace is a quiet Brooklyn neighborhood. You might recognize the locations of the movies "As Good As It Gets" or Dog Day Afternoon, both were filmed right here. We are a block from the grocery store and pharmacy, and there are many restaurants and a movie theater within 15 minutes walking distance. Prospect park is 2 blocks away. It is an 8 minute walk to the F Train which will take you into Manhattan. Most of the neighborhood makes the commute daily for work. Citibike is available if you prefer to pedal rather than walk.

Occupation

  • Teacher
  • Nurse Practitioner

Children

  • We do not have children.

Pets

  • Cecil our cat

About Our Family

Soren is 58 and a teacher Mary is 59 and a nurse practitioner. We are empty-nesters.

We have two grown children and a new son-in-law. Katrine is a nurse, Brad (her husband) is an iron worker and Peter is a community oganizer. Some or all of them might accompany us when we travel if they have the time but for the most part it will just be the two of us.