Gent, Belgium

view from the bridge to KOBENHAVN

view from the bridge to KOBENHAVN



Atomium in Brussel

Atomium in Brussel

Gent - Ghent - Gand

Gent - Ghent - Gand

De Schelde in Temse

De Schelde in Temse


Member since


Usually responds to exchange requests in less than 72 hoursfast replier
Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 09, 2022 - August 13, 2022 2 weeks

other and shorter period possible

July 15, 2022 - August 27, 2022 2 weeks


Ghent, Belgium

Dear home-exchange friends

Our comfortable and spacious appartment offers you on the:
- hall, a toilet, the kitchen and big dining area, the living room.
- 1 big bedroom with a double bed, a 2nd room with smaller double beds, the bathroom with a bathtub, shower and a toilet
- a studyroom

Our sunny terrace is a nice place to relax with several tables to enjoy your meal and view on the canal

Gent (Gand -Ghent) is well located and a great place to tour from
– but even a nice place to stay and relax.

Our home is close to several interesting cities:
Lille (France)
Rotterdam and Amsterdam (Netherlands)

In summer there are free many happenings: music, theatre, performances, …
Tell us what you are interested in so we can prepare you a wonderful staying here.

Are you fond of cyling ? No problem : use our bikes to discover Flanders (= the Northern and flat part of Belgium).
There are several swimming pools in the neighbourhood: open and covered.

Don't doubt about Belgium as a holiday place,
we can promise you a very varied vacation:
whatever you are fond of you can find it nearby !

We wonder if you are interested in holidays in Belgium this summer!

Kind regards,
Elie and Hadewijch
Kopenhagenstraat 4.003
9000 Gent
T +32 474 63 67 62

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 24 Exchanges made


  • advisor association medical devices
  • industrial designer (retired professor)

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4
  • Living Area: 170 m2
  • Total Area: 190 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 3

Our Destination Wish List

  • Spain
  • France
  • Italy
  • Portugal
  • France
  • Poland

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Español
  • Deutsch
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood

We live in G(h)ent, a cosy historical city: just outside the centre.
at an hour drive by car or train you find Antwerp(en) (famous Zoo),
Mechelen (Planckendael Zoo and Technopolis; for children interested in technology and experiments)
The large Belgian sand-coast and Northsea.
The Netherlands and France are also very close.


  • advisor association medical devices
  • industrial designer (retired professor)


  • We do not have children.


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home

About Our Family

My husband, Elie, 69 is retired as a teacher in University of Antwerp in industrial design.
He loves singing, cycling, walking nature, working with clay, … home-exchange, his children, grand-children and…me:
Hadewijch, 64 years old, I am working as advisor at beMedTech, professional association for manufacturers and dealers for medical devices and technologies. I love reading.

We have three children: Maaike (40) our oldest daughter - married with Kristof, lives in Ghent,
Tuur (35) our son, married with Sigrid, has a daugter, Nel (9) and two sons Mo (7) and Bas (5) and lives near Kortrijk.
Our youngest daughter, Siska (32), interior architect, also lives in Ghent with ( also named) Kristof, has a daughter Oona since June 2019 .
Elie and me would exchange home and eventually some of the children may come and visit us for a week, maximum 4 adults.


We love lots of things, such as:


Among the 24 exchange partners below, some gave their feedback on their Intervac experience with this member: