Brugge, Belgium

Our "bel-étage" house in the middle, yet in the city center but surrounded by green parks and trails

Our "bel-étage" house in the middle, yet in the city center but surrounded by green parks and trails

Our family at Niagara falls 2016

Our family at Niagara falls 2016

Our "bel-étage" house in the middle, yet in the city center but surrounded by green parks and trails Our family at Niagara falls 2016

Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
November 01, 2021 - October 15, 2023 1
January 03, 2022 - January 07, 2022 5 days

Even er tussenuit!? Nederland, France? Belgie?

February 28, 2022 - March 04, 2022 5 days

All offers welcome!

April 04, 2022 - April 15, 2022 10

All offers welcome!

June 24, 2022 - August 11, 2022 1

USA/CANADA summer 2022!? All offers welcome, long term possible (we are flexible)!

House in Brugge city center, Belgium

Dear Intervac-friends, 

Our "Bel-étage" house is located inside the historical city center of our beautiful old town near the coast of Belgium, yet surrounded by walking/cycling trails, windmills and green zones. The moan canal passes right in front of our house, so you'll see boats and yachts pass by daily by looking through our front windows.

Bruges is very centrally located in Western Europe, a gateway to Amsterdam,Rotterdam,Paris,Lille, Köln and numerous other interesting cities. We are 15 kms away from the Belgian coast/beach. England ferries are a 20 min drive (Zeebrugge-Hull) or 1 hour drive (Calais-Dover). Our capital, Brussels and Antwerp(en) are only a 1 hour drive, historical G(h)ent only half an hour.
We consider every offer from whichever country at any time. Mostly we exchange during school holidays, although we are able to exchange during the school year as well. Any long term exchange (preferably 1 month at least) in july/august is welcome.
We do have bicycles for you to use and car exchange is a possibility for overseas swaps.
Our kids and ourselves try our very best to treat your house and belongings respectfully and  leave our own house in the best condition possible for you to enjoy your stay!
Please mail us for any additional information!


Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 54 Exchanges made


  • Goverment occupancy

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange
  • Youth exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 4


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Spain
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Great Britain
  • Greece
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Kenya
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Poland
  • USA

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Brussels - 100 km

  • shopping Colruyt (1.0 km)
  • forest Veltembos (1.8 km)
  • boating Yachtclub and kayakclub (2.8 km)

Our house is located just within the moan of the city center. We are 200 m from the crossgate, a medieval defense building that gives access to the city center. In front of our house is a beautiful green zone with a historic windmill. Kids love to roam around in front of our house. there is also a nearby playground around the block. Our exchange partners enjoy browsing the scenery from our living room.
Despite the central location, our house is surrounded by walking/cycling trails, public benches to relax and a windmills! Many boats and yachts pass by every day in front of our house. There's a lot of green zones in our immediate neighbourhood for people to hang out.
From our home, you can walk right into the city center. The central market square is only a 10 minute walk from our house. There's a busstop near our house from where buses pass by every 20 minutes to bring you anywhere in town or to the station eventually.
We are also very close to a business boulevard where you find a variety of supermarkets and other shops.


  • Goverment occupancy


  • Boy - Age: 16
  • Boy - Age: 9


  • Pets are NOT welcome in our home

About Our Family

I am 49 years old, my wife Beryl is 47 but feeling younger as ever since she started running marathons 13 years ago.
Our son Laurel is 16 and Arnold is now 9.
They love sports and basketball in particular.
We are very flexible to swap, both on and off-peak season.
But please make us any offer from anywhere worldwide and we will put it into consideration!


We love to travel all around the world, do a lot of sports and finally volunteer ourselves to raise funds in support of orphans in my wife's native home country Kenya.
Exchanging homes has been a blessing to us as we love to get in touch with foreign people. It has already given us a lot of friendships and numerous happy moments and memories!